All Stars President urge ex-players to join PFAN as the Club celebrate Mathematical,Owoblow,others - oguncitynews


Monday 13 March 2023

All Stars President urge ex-players to join PFAN as the Club celebrate Mathematical,Owoblow,others

By Yusuf Olatunji

The President of All Stars Football Club,Abeokuta, Alhaji Waheed Lawal has urged ex-Footballers across the country to join the only recognized Footballers body by the statutes of the Nigeria Football Federation(NFF),the Professional Footballers Association of Nigeria(PFAN) and speak with one voice

Lawal made the call over the Weekend at the end of the year Events of All Stars Football Club, Abeokuta at MKO Abiola Stadium,Abeokuta.In his welcome address,he said  it is high time the football authority in each State of the Federation and the State Governments recognise the efforts of ex-Footballers through PFAN in repositioning football development

"It is important that our States Authorities note that our members' wealth of experience could play a lead role in the management and advisory part of Sports related matters in the States"

Lawal described All Stars Football Club as the only group where large members of Sports veterans could be located 

According to him "All Stars Football Club Abeokuta with present human capacity of over 125 active members,in the past years have embarked on several monumental Sport development programs that could add value to the government's efforts on infrastructural building and maintenance culture of Sports enhancement in the State"

Also speaking,Ogun State Commissioner for Youth and Sports,Dr Oluwadare Kehinde represented by the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry,Dr Yusuff Adegboyega lauded the initiative of the Club at complementing the efforts of government in the development of football in the State

"The Mathematical" Segun Odegbami,Felix Owolabi "Owoblow" and Coach Kadiri Kawawa Ikhana,all teammates in the Green Eagles team that won the first Africa Cup of Nations for Nigeria were among the illustrious personalities that celebrated and decorated on the day

Also decorated with gold medals and plagues were the General Secretary of PFAN, Comrade Austin Popo, Veteran Coaches Kola Taiwo, Abiodun Odejimi,Abiodun Kalejaye and Muyiwa Famuyiwa

Others are former team Manager of DG football Club of Abeokuta,Tunji Fagbenro,former Chairman of Ogun State House of Assembly's Committee on Sports,Hon. Femi Allen-Taylor,General Manager,Gateway United FC,Niyi Soleye and Gateway United's Coach Toyin Ayinla.

The Ogun State Football Association's Chairman, Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi and the Chairman of Sports Writers Association of Nigeria Ogun State Chapter,Akeem Akintunde were also decorated

The highpoint of the Events was a Round-robin mini football tourney played among three team;Abeokuta All Stars,Egba All Stars and Abeokuta Bankers All Stars

Abeokuta All Stars triumphed after trashing Egba All Stars 3-0 in the final match.Abeokuta All Stars had earlier played a goalless draw with Bankers All Stars and the same scoreline ensued between Bankers All Stars and Egba All Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here